Wednesday March 06, 2019
The field for the tenth staging of the forthcoming Ben Fund Bonanza at Leicester’s Paul Chapman & Sons Arena on Sunday 17th March (start time 2pm) is now complete.

Richard Lawson (winner of the ninth Bonanza) will be one of three former winners in the field (Ben Barker and Nick Morris the others) and Justin Sedgmen, back with Edinburgh, will step in for his first UK meeting since 2017.

Sixteen riders have been announced now and it’s a very solid field even if without any Grand Prix superstars.

The field is: Nick Morris, Ulrich Ostergaard, Scott Nicholls, Danny King, Sam Masters, Jason Garrity, Steve Worrall, Ryan Douglas, Lewis Kerr, Ben Barker, Richie Worrall, Josh Auty, Charles Wright, Justin Sedgmen, Richard Lawson and Paul Starke. Reserves are Connor Mountain and Ellis Perks.

As usual a full afternoon is planned for the Bonanza day.

Doors open at midday and at 12:30 the pre-meeting events begin with Men in Black races and four heats for some of the best of the UK’s Under-age riders.

Some supporters have bought packages which include joining some of the competitors on their Track Walk, and that will be at 1:15. Ricky Ashworth’s tandem ride is sure to receive great applause, then the Grand Parade is at 2pm and the first race will be at 2:15.

The auction will be immediately after the final presentation.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter